Parliamentary committee to monitor COVID-19 prevention, action plan

ISLAMABAD: The parliament has set up a committee to oversee efforts to combat the Covid-19 pandemic on Thursday. This committee has members of the National Assembly and federal government officials in it, according to an NA spokesperson.

The spokesperson said that the committee would monitor and inspect every activity meant to combat the spread of the virus as well as record the kind of impact it might have on the national economy.

He further said the parliament had assigned these members to supervise the national action plan for Covid-19 and find better solutions to apply the recommendations of that plan.

The members of this committee are supposed to form a sub-committee that would set down TORs and report to both houses of parliament about their task.

Defense Minister Pervez Khattak, Planning Minister Asad Umar, Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Railways Minister Sheikh Rashid, Prime Minister’s Finance Adviser Dr Abdul Hafeez Shaikh, and Special Assistant to PM on Health Dr Zafar Mirza have been chosen as members of this parliamentary committee.

The following people are going to be part of the committee as well: Azam Khan Swati, Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui, Khawaja Asif, Raja Pervez Ashraf, Chaudhry Tariq Bashir Cheema, Asad Mahmood, Shibli Faraz, Mushahidullah Khan, Muhammad Ali Saif, Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri, Mir Hasil Khan Bizenjo, Sherry Rehman, Usman Khan Kakar, Siraj-ul-Haq, Sitara Ayaz, Dr Jahanzeb Jamaluddin, Syed Muzaffar Hussain Shah, and Aurangzeb Khan, whereas Khalid Hussain Magsi, Akhtar Mengal, Ghous Bux Khan Mahar, Nawabzada Shahzain Bugti and Ameer Haider Khan Hoti would represent the BAP, BNP-M, GDA, JWP and the ANP.