ATC acquits PM Imran Khan in 2014 parliament attack case

An Anti-Terrorism Court (ATC) in Islamabad on Thursday, acquitted Prime Minister Imran Khan in 2014 Parliament Attack Case.

ATC Judge Raja Jawad Abbas Hassan presided over the hearing regarding petition filed for PM Imran Khan’s acquittal in 2014 Parliament Attack Case.

During the hearing, Abdullah Awan – PM Imran’s lawyer, argued that the case was based on ‘political agenda’ and highlighted that prosecution itself was in favor of PM Imran Khan’s acquittal.

The court then acquitted PM Imran Khan in the 2014 Parliament Attack Case.

Meanwhile, proceedings against PTI leader Dr Arif Alvi have been suspended owing to his office of President of Pakistan. However, the court announced its decision to indict several other party leaders including Foreign Minister Shah Mehmood Qureshi, Defence Minister Pervez Khattak, Education Minister Shafqat Mehmood, and Planning Minister Asad Umar, Aleem Khan and Jahangir Tareen.

It is to be noted that Pakistan Awami Tehreek (PAT) Chief – Dr Tahirul Qadri has already been declared ‘absconder’ in 2014 Parliament Attack Case.


PM Imran Khan, then chairman Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf chariman (PTI), along with several other party leaders were booked for attacking parliament, Pakistan Television Corporation (PTV) building back in 2014 during the PTI-PAT sin-in against election rigging and Model Town incident.

Party workers clashed with security forces, who then resorted to tear-gas shelling to disperse the crowd. In response, party workers stormed PTV building and even beat p SSP Asmatullah Junejo at the Constitution Avenue.

The ATC in 2018, had granted permanent exemption to PM Imran Khan from appearing before the court in 2014 Parliament Attack Case.