Government nominates Mirza Afridi for Deputy Chairman Senate

Prime Minister Imran Khan had nominated Mirza Afridi – an independent Senator from FATA, for Deputy Chairman slot.

Federal Minister for Information and Broadcasting – Shibli Faraz, took to social media to announce the development that Mirza Afridi has been nominated by PM Imran Khan for Deputy Chairman Senate slot.

Prime Minister Imran khan has nominated Senator Mirza Mohammad Afridi for Deputy Chairman Slot giving representation to Ex FATA PTI member, he tweeted.

It is to be noted that government has already nominated current Chairman Senate Sadiq Sanjrani for a second term at the top post.

Earlier, government had offered Senate Deputy Chairman slot to senior JUI-F leader Abdul Ghafoor Haideri. Serving Senate Chairman Sadiq Sanjrani and Federal Minister of Defence Pervec Khattak has met with the veteran opposition politician and had offered him the second-most senior post of the upper house.

Meanwhile, Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM) has nominated PPP leader and for prime minister Yousuf Raza Gilani for Senate Chairmanship; whereas JUI-F’s Abdul Ghafoor Haideri has been nominated as opposition’s candidate for Deputy Chairman Senate.

Election for Senate Chairman and Deputy Chairman are scheduled to be held on Friday March 12th (tomorrow).