PCB announces Pakistan’s squad for South Africa home series

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced Pakistan Cricket Team squad for home series against South Africa.

Pakistan cricket selectors have named a 20-member squad, including nine uncapped players, for the two-match test series against South Africa starting from January 26th. The players will enter the bio-secure bubble on 19 January and the squad will be trimmed to 16 players ahead of the first Test.

Openers Abdullah Shafique and Imran Butt, middle-order batsmen Kamran Ghulam, Salman Ali Agha and Saud Shakeel, spinners Nauman Ali and Sajid Khan, and fast bowlers Haris Rauf and Tabish Khan have been rewarded for their stellar performances in the 2020-21 domestic season, including the first-class Quaid-e-Azam Trophy.

Hasan Ali and Mohammad Nawaz have too returned to the Test side after two years following a highly successful Quaid-e-Azam Trophy.

Pakistan’s Lineup

  • Abid Ali
  • Abdullah Shafique
  • Imran Butt
  • Azhar Ali
  • Babar Azam (c)
  • Fawad Alam
  • Kamran Ghulam
  • Salman Ali Agha
  • Saud Shakeel
  • Faheem Ashraf
  • Mohammad Nawaz
  • Mohammad Rizwan
  • Sarfaraz Ahmed
  • Nauman Ali
  • Sajid khan
  • Yasir Shah
  • Haris Rauf
  • Hasan Ali
  • Shaheen Shah Afridi
  • Tabish Gauhar

Addressing the press conference, Chief Selector Muhammad Wasim congratulated the short listed players citing that their plausible performances in the domestic circle have led to their selection to the national squad.

Expressing his views regarding players who missed out on the selection, Muhammad Wasim stressed the need for them to retain their focus and continue to work hard as there will be opportunities at some stage down the year.