India to close its borders with Pakistan

Delhi: The Indian government has decided to close its international borders with Nepal, Bhutan, Myanmar, Bangladesh and Pakistan.

In a statement issued on the social media site Twitter, the spokesperson for the Indian Ministry of Home Affairs said that, “All types of passenger movements through all immigration Land Check Posts located at India’s borders with Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan and Myanmar suspended w.e.f. 0000hrs, Mar15, 2020 & at India-Pakistan border w.e.f. 0000hrs, Mar16, 2020”

However, Attari crossing point at Pakistan-India border will be open for diplomats and UN officials having necessary documents and credentials.

The decision comes as Indian government step up its efforts to contain the coronavirus outbreak as the number of confirmed coronavirus cases in India have reached a total of 110, with 17 foreign nationals and two casualties.