Qibla Ayaz appointed as chairman Council of Islamic Ideology

Qibla Ayaz has been reappointed as chairman Council of Islamic Ideology (CII). President Arif Alvi has approved his appointment as CII head.

As per details, President Arif Alvi appointed 12 new members of CII under Article 228 of the Constitution on Friday (today). The new CII members include;

  • Dr Umair Mahmood Siddiqui (University of Karachi)
  • Pir Abul Hassan Muhammad Shah of Bhairah Sharif
  • Muhammad Hassan Haseeb-ur-Rehman (Darul Uloom Haqqania, Akora, Khattak)
  • Maulana Hamid-ul-Haq Haqqani (Darul Uloom Haqqania, Akora, Khattak)
  • Allama Muhammad Hussain Akbar
  • Syed Ziaullah Shah Bukhari
  • Pirzada Junaid Amin
  • Hafiz Muhammad Tahir Mahmood Ashrafi
  • Mufti Muhammad Zubair
  • Syed Muhammad Habib Irfani
  • Maulana Naseem Ali Shah

The Council of Islamic Ideology is a constitutional body that advises the legislature whether or not a certain law is repugnant to Islam, namely to the Qur’an and Sunna. Its functions include to make recommendations to Majlis-e-Shoora (Parliament) and the Provincial Assemblies as to the ways and means of enabling and encouraging the Muslims of Pakistan to order their lives individually and collectively in all respects in accordance with the principles and concepts of Islam as enunciated in the Holy Qur’an and Sunnah.

  • To advise a House, a Provincial Assembly, the President or a Governor on any question referred to the Council as to whether a proposed law is or is not repugnant to the Injunctions of Islam.
  • To make recommendations as to the measures for bringing existing laws into conformity with the Injunctions of Islam and the stages by which such measures should be brought into effect.

The council is also responsible for submitting an annual interim report, which is discussed in the Parliament and Provincial Assemblies within six months of its receipt.